Richmond transmissions

Richmond transmissions

Postby Randy Blaylock » Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:41 pm

Anybody have experience with Richmond products good or bad? We're looking at the 5 speed road race specifically. Sure would be nice if it's robust enough.
Randy Blaylock

Re: Richmond transmissions

Postby Randy Blaylock » Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:29 am

Crickets....

The Richmond tech dept said they're not suitable fwiw.

Also, the T56 bellhousing does not fit under the crossover collectors. The path is now clear, 5.5 inch clutch/bellhousing and standard 4 speed crash box, or 5 speed with spacer to accomodate the reverse mount starter. Moving forward. Approximately 10 weeks to green.
Randy Blaylock

Postby BK Racing » Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:11 pm

Randy,

I have no personal experience driving a Richmond five-speed transmission, but a buddy used one of their six-speeds in a first-gen Firebird Solo I car and their Tech Department is correct. It might be a decent street transmission, but we kept missing shifts and the ratios were not really suitable for competition.

I also worked on a GT-1 car that came to us with a Richmond five-speed that had been cooked by the previous owner. We took it to Johnny Hightower (Hightower Racing Transmissions near Greenville, SC) for an estimate on rebuilding it, and it was cheaper to buy a brand new Jerico.
Butch Kummer
Associate Pastor
First Church of GTA
(V8)GTA Monte Cuervo #57
BK Racing

Postby Randy Blaylock » Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:25 am

Thank you Butch.

After looking at several different paths, we're going to use a T101A with full REM processed internals that's got fresh dogs, with a Tex SR1 and/or my Jerico top loader as back ups.